PDA

View Full Version : Beginner needs advice

Ianster
11-23-2004, 05:45 PM
(Warning: This is long.)

Hi Everyone,

I was wondering if someone would be kind enough to give me some advice. I am an absolute beginner. I have been voraciously reading books on real estate and creative financing, so I do have a basic grasp of many of the concepts.

My main concern is dealing with lenders. My credit score is 649, and I had thought that this would give me horrible terms on a loan, if I could even get one. I have recently found out that my credit may not be as bad as I had thought in regards to buying a house.

My facts are:

1. I will be getting married in August 2005.

2. My apartment lease ends December 31st. Will go month-to-month after 12/31/2005 while looking for a house.

3. My FICO is 649. Most negatives are about 6 years old.

4. I have been renting at the current place for 5 years, always on time with rent.

5. I currently have nothing for down payment, though I hope to use any gift money from the wedding. Still, I expect a very small down payment (around 5% depending on house price).

6. I have been at the same job for a little over 2 years.

7. I had been working as an IT consultant (on a 1099) when I was laid off two weeks before September 11, 2001. I was then out of work for 13 months, and had to live on what was to be my quarterly tax payments. As a result, I currently owe the IRS more than $50K and the state of NJ about $8K. I am in installment agreements with both IRS and NJ, which means that they are not chasing me for the full amount. The policy of the state of NJ is to put what they called a judgement but is listed in my credit report as a "tax lien" for the $8K until it is fully paid off.

My approximate monthly financial info:

Net: 4,700
IRS debt: -1,500
NJ tax debt: -300
Other debt: -150
Rent: -1,175

What I am looking to achieve is to:

1. Move into a house, instead of wasting $1,175 on rent.